LANDMARK EDITS

Is keto the key to performance?

APR 24, 2019

Optimising yourself requires a diet that is bespoke and personalised - the future of dieting in our DNA.

The diet of the future will be highly personalised, using DNA testing to find the right balance that will optimise our physical and mental performance. To find out more, we spoke to Katia Kutcher, a dietician whose clients include some of Hong Kong’s top-performing sportspeople, from athletes to bodybuilders, not to mention high-flying professionals who are looking to get the most out of their bodies and minds. She is the ideal person to ask when it comes to optimising our own everyday performance.

We met Kutcher over a coffee, and began by asking her for the truth behind the ketogenic, or keto, diet. The keto diet is a high-fat, low-carbohydrate diet that is intended to put the body into ketosis - a metabolic state where the body becomes reliant on fat rather than sugar for its energy supply. Keto is said to aid weight loss, and leads to an increase in physical energy and mental focus, making it hugely popular with overachievers, and with those who are always seeking a bigger challenge.

 

Kutcher knows what she’s talking about when it comes to keto, “I’ve had quite a few clients on keto diets, men and women, I’ve read the research and I’ve also experienced it directly in my work.” She cites the example of one client, an ultramarathon runner who has competed in races of up to 800 km in distance and has experimented with the keto diet. For this individual, the keto approach was successful in getting to the finish line. But for others, particularly those with a competitive streak, a more sugar-fuelled approach works far better. Kutcher explains that for those who want to take part in more high-impact, fast paced activities, “It’s all glycogen; your body needs carbs and that’s all there is to it.” In other words, the ideal diet for personal optimisation depends on your goals and lifestyle.

 

In fact, Kutcher cautions that diets such as keto should be approached with care, “For me, I’m not into anything very restrictive unless you have specific health issues to fix. I’m in favour of something you can sustain for a lifetime and enjoy, and feel healthy.” Kutcher warns that the keto diet is far from being sustainable. “People who have been on the keto diet, for the first two months they see great results, because It’s something different. Especially for people that are addicted to processed sugar; your body and brain gets very activated. But then, the opposite thing happens; the metabolism slows down a bit and plateaus and you start having health issues; a lot of times there are vitamin and mineral deficiencies, for women it can cause hormonal imbalances, plus high cholesterol in both men and women.”

 

No shortcuts - the experts suggest that quick-fix diets are no substitute for hard graft

 

Kutcher points out that following dieting trends without proper guidance is risky, “It scares me, I’m so tired of all the alternative facts, some diets are getting so extreme. And the reason for these trends is social media; we see pictures of people looking great after two months of keto. But we all have different body types; some people, their bodies are happier with carbs, others with healthy fats.” A diet that is highly personalised will always achieve the best results, Kutcher advises. “So see what your body likes, and if you’re into keto, we can re-adjust it. So, people that have become sick because of following keto should cut out the bacon, and cut out the fatty cheese - you can still have it once in a while, but don’t have it daily. Then we add some carbs, add some healthy foods, not processed foods, but just increase your carbohydrates a little bit. You just need to balance it.”

Burrata Cheese, available at Dot Cod Seafood Restaurant and Oyster Bar.

 

Choosing a diet that will optimise your performance requires more than just research into what works for other people, it requires the ability to listen to your body. That’s why personalisation is essential. “For instance, if you’re not having issues with gluten, why cut it out?” asks Kutcher. “Same with dairy, people who are OK with dairy should have it because then you get the calcium, you get the vitamin D, you get a little bit of protein…”

 

Listening to your body is the key to achieving great performance, suggests Kutcher. “That’s what people don’t realise, and with my work that’s what I do, my clients’ diet programmes are always according to their body.”

 

To ensure that her clients’ programmes are optimised, Kutcher often recommends DNA testing, “You just have to do it once in your life and you receive a whole nutrition programme according to the results. It tells you about everything; how your body handles carbohydrates, proteins, sodium, coffee, alcohol. It shows how to balance your diet to optimise for endurance, strength, speed, recovery…”

 

Optimising yourself through perfecting your diet is one area of life where quick-fixes should be regarded with caution. Nevertheless, DNA testing promises to deliver insights that can give a head start to anyone willing to pay the price. The future of dieting then, is not to be found on social media, it’s far more personal. In fact, it’s in our genes.

RELATED STORIES

RELATED BRANDS

TOP

LANDMARK EDITS

生酮飲食餐單成效顯著?

2019年 04月 24日

讓你瘦身成功的餐單需要個人訂制—-未來餐單在我們的基因𥚃。

未來的餐單將會是個人化的,訂制的,因為用基因測試能找出適合身體和精神上平衡的需要,從而制定你的專屬餐單。我們和營養師Katia Kutcher了解,她的客戶包括香港一些頂尖運動員和爭取外型及清晰思維表現的專業人士。由她解釋個人化餐單最合適不過了。

我們和Kutcher一起享用咖啡,她娓娓道出生酮飲食餐單的真相。Keto Diet 是一種高脂低碳水化合物的餐單,目的是令身體的新陳代謝保持在燃燒脂肪多於醣類,以提供熱量。生酮號稱減重,增加體能熱量,精神專注,受到大量目標為本、大幅度挑戰的人歡迎。

 

Kutcher十分了解生酮飲食餐單:「我有不少不分男女的客戶追捧生酮飲食餐單的,於是我做了一點研究,也親自採用過。」她舉其中一位試驗過生酮飲食的客戶作例子,這位客戶是超級馬拉松好手,跑步距離已累積到800千米,他是云云中成功例子。但對於其他人,燃燒身體内醣類含量較好。她解釋:「快速瘦身成功一般是因為消耗糖原,但糖原來自碳水化合物,你的身體需要它,就是這樣。」換言之,理想餐單應該是個人化的,以達至個人目標和生活方式。

 

事實上,Kutcher建議任何減肥瘦身餐單,例如生酮飮食,均需要特別留心注意,「像我,不會特別嚴格控制飲食,除非有什麼特別的健康問題要處理;我是那種對飲食採取享受又能持續保持健康的方式來生活的人。」生酮飲食餐單,可惜是不能持續的。她補充:「採用生酮飲食餐單的人可能在第一二個月有顯著的效果,因為它真是不同的,但是當人們的身體習慣了處理醣類,你的身體和腦袋會變得十分活躍,然後相反的事情會發生,新陳代謝率減慢,瘦身減肥去到平頂,你開始會遇到一些健康狀況:維他命和礦物質不足,對女性來說會引起荷爾蒙失衡,男或女的膽固醇都有機會升高。」

 

沒有捷徑—專家認為快速減肥瘦身不是努力運動的代替品。

 

Kutcher 指出以下流行的瘦身餐單,如沒有專人指導,會有風險。「有些極端的(餐單),它背後的另類真相,真是嚇壞我了。我覺得它們能夠流行起來,很大原因是社交媒體,好像你很容易看到一些人採用了生酮飮食餐單兩個月後的驕人成績,但每個人的身體狀況各有不同:有些人的身體較接受碳水化合物,又有些對脂肪不抗拒,吃了身心也快樂;如果你因而轉向生酮飮食,我們便需要調整一下。」因此,一個人需要因應個人需要和身體特質來設計餐單,這樣才能達到最佳效果。也因為如此,如果我因為生酮飲食引起了不舒服的症狀,便可能要減少進食煙肉、芝士等,當然偶一為之是可以的。再加上一些碳水化合物食品,有益健康的食物,不吃加工食品,總之,飲食均衡最重要。

未來的高成效飮食餐單必然是高度個人化的。

 

選擇適合自己的餐單,你需要的不是搜尋別人成功的方式,而是擁有了解自己身體的能力。這就解釋了個人化餐單設計的需要。「舉例來說,如果你對麩質沒問題,哪為什麼要戒掉它?」Kutcher 反問。「同樣道理,奶類製品也一樣,你沒敏感就可以進食,這樣你能從中吸收鈣質、維他命D和一點蛋白質......。」

 

聆聽身體所需就是達到理想目標的關鍵,Kutcher 還提議:「許多人不為意這個道理,因為我的工作就是和客人一起了解他們身體的狀況,從而設計合適的瘦身健康飲食餐單。」

 

為了保證客人的瘦身健康飲食餐單有理想效果,她更建議客人進行基因測試。「你只要一生做一次,就得到一整個整全的營養計劃,你會了解身體的一切,你身體怎樣處理碳水化合物、蛋白質、鈉、咖啡因和酒精。它也顯示你的餐單要怎樣平衡而達到如忍耐力、力量、反應速度和受傷康復速度等等。」

 

以最適合自己的飲食餐單來達到目標就需要小心留意。毫無疑問,你願意付出一點,基因測試能讓你從中得到啟示。未來理想餐單,不會在社交媒體找到,而是個人的,而且在自己的基因𥚃。

相關文章

相關品牌

TOP