NOW AT LANDMARK

Play It Forward

FEB 26, 2019

As the world faces growing uncertainty, designers came out in force for Spring 2019 with a confident showing of playful trends.

 

“We don’t stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing,” so goes iconoclastic writer George Bernard Shaw’s oft-quoted adage. He didn’t mean this in only a metaphorical way – play has a wide range of psychological benefits, from fine-tuning motor skills and cognitive abilities such as spatial reasoning and problem-solving, to managing our stress by lowering the associated hormones. Throughout the Year of Play Vogue Hong Kong and LANDMARK will play it forward with latest trends or insights.

Stella McCartney

 

Play is becoming ever more important in today’s world, given the widespread economic inequality, massive environmental shifts and political strife that dominates the news headlines. Fashion, which frequently mirrors the current zeitgeist, picked up on this mood and rebuked with uncharacteristically optimistic fervour this Spring season to combat the dreary forecast. To this end, designers turned to neon colours, tie-dye and escapist influences – vibrant and effervescent trends that serve as the perfect salve for the plethora of societal pressures we face on a daily basis. Cue beach ball handbags from Chanel, and highly customisable totes from Anya Hindmarch that all but demand a childlike approach to fashion.

Saint Laurent

 

Meanwhile, Virgil Abloh’s first menswear campaign as the creative director of Louis Vuitton riffed on the theme of play prominently, harking back to the halcyon days of teenagehood with a Julian Klincewicz-directed short film that saw teenage boys frolicking around Los Angeles in grainy, lo-fi footage.

Louis Vuitton

 

On the runways, bright, bold and whimsical designs dominated the trends, with designers more unafraid than ever in toying with the status quo. A profusion of feathers and fringe livened up partywear at Gucci and Loewe; floral prints bloomed in quantity at Balenciaga; tutti frutti suiting came into full swing at Moschino; and drastically oversized bows tied everything together at Valentino. Safe to say, it’s hard not to feel uplifted at the sight of so many fanciful designs populating shop windows, proving once again the power of fashion to bring out the inner child in us all.

Chanel

 

To quote the perennial maxim, when we work hard, we must also play as hard, which provides those of us looking to reinvent our wardrobes this season with the perfect excuse to go all out in colour, pattern and playfulness. Go ahead and play.

Desiree Au, Publisher, Vogue Hong Kong

TOP

最新消息

Play It Forward

2019年 02月 26日

随着世界面临越来越多的不确定性,设计师们在2019年春季出现了充满活力的潮流。

 

「我们不会因为我们变老而停止游戏;我们只会因为停止游戏而变老」是破除因袭的名作家乔治萧伯纳经常引用的谚语。他没有只在隐喻的方式意味着这个——发挥具有广泛的心理益处,从微调运动技能和认知能力,如空间推理和解决问题的能力,通过降低相关的荷尔蒙管理我们的压力。整个乐玩之年——香港版《Vogue》和地广场将以最新的潮流和见解向前迈进。

Stella McCartney 运动鞋 (左)

 

鉴于广泛的经济不平等,大规模的环境变化和霸占新闻头条的政治纷争,游戏在当今世界变得越来越重要。时尚,经常反映当前的时代精神,在这个春天的季节,以非常乐观的热情斥责这种情绪,以打击沉闷的预测。为此,设计师们转向霓虹色,扎染和逃避现实的影响——充满活力的潮流,为我们每天面临的众多社会压力提供了完美的帮助。来自香奈儿(Chanel)的沙滩球手提包,以及来自Anya Hindmarch的高度可定制的手袋,都为时尚带来一份童真。

Saint Laurent 背包

 

同时,Virgil Abloh当上创意总监的第一个Louis Vuitton 男装广告上突出的主题是游戏,在Julian Klincewicz拍摄短片中,从颗粒感Lo -fi镜头看到十几岁的男孩在洛杉矶附近嬉戏,令人联想起青少年的太平日。

Louis Vuitton手提包

 

在天桥上,明亮、大胆和异想天开的设计主宰了潮流,设计师们在玩弄现状时比以往任何时候都更加无所畏惧。丰富的羽毛和流苏使Gucci和Loewe的派对活跃起来;Balenciaga的花卉图案数量众多;在Moschino,什锦水果糖套装全面展开;在Valentino,大幅超大的蝴蝶结将所有东西捆绑在一起。可以肯定地说,看到如此众多的幻想设计在商店橱窗上的出现,很难不让人感到振奋,再次证明时尚的力量能够将我们所有人的内在小孩带出来。

香奈儿的沙滩球手提包 (右)

 

引用这个常青的格言,当我们努力工作时,我们也必须努力游戏,这为我们这些希望在本季重塑我们的衣橱的人们提供了完美的借口,在颜色,图案和趣味性方面全力以赴。来吧,玩吧。

Desiree Au, 出版人, 香港版《Vogue

TOP