Rejuvenated Bonsai

RECYCLED WOOD
140 x 180 x 110 cm
LOCATION
1/F JARDINE HOUSE
FLOOR PLAN
artist picture
Lam Laam, Jaffa

b. 1973

Hong Kong artist Lam Laam, Jaffa began her training at the Chinese University of Hong Kong where she developed a distinct style in large-scale site-specific installations. Jaffa has attained international acclaim exhibiting in the United States, Canada, China, Taiwan, Kenya and Bangladesh. She was awarded the Asian Cultural Council’s Desiree and Hans Michael Jebsen Fellowship in 2006, and represented Hong Kong in Japan’s Setouchi Triennale in 2013.

Through her work she explores introspective issues such as local culture, history, society and current affairs.  She aims to exemplify the Chinese philosophy of ‘the usefulness of the useless’ in her extensive use of recycled materials including crate wood, old furniture and umbrella fabric.

‘Rejuvenated Bonsai’ is a dedication to Hongkong Land, symbolizing its longevity. In this work Jaffa revitalizes recycled wood, vividly transforming it into a solid tree form, reflecting her respect for the Company’s deep-rooted history and affiliation with the community.  The delicate branches reach out with new life, in the way that Hongkong Land continues to lead into the future.

The artist’s values and deep connection to Hong Kong and nature are reflected in this work as all the materials used were sourced and formed locally, some within just a few steps from her studio. 


SEE MORE IN JARDINE HOUSE ART

TOP

再生盆景

環保木
140 x 180 x 110厘米
地點
1/F 怡和大廈
平面圖
artist picture
林嵐

生於1973年

香港藝術家林嵐曾於香港中文大學修習藝術,建立了獨特的藝術風格,主力創作大型藝術裝置。她曾於美國、加拿大、中國、台灣、肯亞及孟加拉參展,享譽國際。2006年她獲頒亞洲文化協會捷成漢伉儷獎助金,並代表香港在2013年日本瀨戶內海三年展亞洲平台展出。

林嵐多以本土文化、歷史、社會及時事為創作背景,並利用回收再用的物料,包括木箱板、舊傢具、雨傘布料等,以反映中國哲學中「無用之用」的理念。

《再生盆景》是林嵐特別為地公司所創作,寓意永續、長久。在作品中,林嵐為回收再用的木材賦予新生命,製作成一棵蒼勁古樸的盆景樹,象徵地公司在香港紮根逾百年的悠久歷史,與這個城市密切聯繫。末端的新枝展示出現時的朝氣和未來的持續發展。

作品乃本土製作,所使用物料皆來自本地,有些甚至來自距離林嵐工作室只有幾步之遙,呈現出藝術家與香港和大自然的深刻聯繫。 


觀賞更多 怡和大廈 藝術品

TOP