Woman Aflame 1980

BRONZE, ED. 2/8
360 cm H
LOCATION
G/F LANDMARK ATRIUM
FLOOR PLAN
artist picture
Salvador Dali

1904-1989

Salvador Dali was a prominent surrealist painter and one of the most recognised and ground breaking artists of his time.  Dali was born in the small agricultural town of Figueres in Catalonia, Spain. A precocious and intelligent child, Dali was encouraged by his parents to practise art from an early age.  His mother especially indulged his creative interests and early eccentricities.  Dali also spent his boyhood summers in the coastal fishing village of Cadaqués where his parents built his first art studio.

He began his formal training in Madrid, attending the San Fernando Royal Academy of Fine Arts.  In the 1920s, Dali went to Paris and struck up friendships with other iconic artists including Picasso, Magritte and Miro, leading to his first surrealist phase during which he soon became a leader of the movement. Throughout his life he drew on eccentricity and exhibitionism, claiming these to be the source of his creative energy.

He was a skilled draftsman, known for striking bizarre images in his surrealist works.  Dali is probably best known for his painting ‘The Persistence of Memory’ featuring his iconic images of melting clocks.  Dali also created works in an expansive repertoire of other mediums including film, photography and sculpture, often collaborating with a range of other artists.

Dali’s sculptures, ‘Lobster Telephone’ and ‘Mae West Lips Sofa’, were two of the most popular objects of the surrealist movement.  His ‘Woman Aflame’ statue, on permanent display here at Landmark, was adapted from his famous 1937 painting ‘Burning Giraffe’.   This striking piece alludes to Dali’s obsession with the mysteries of women and Sigmund Freud’s research on dream interpretations.  This sculpture provides the viewer with a unique opportunity to explore infinite possibilities and momentarily escape from the hustle and bustle of CENTRAL. 


SEE MORE IN LANDMARK ATRIUM ART

TOP

燃烧的女人,1980

青铜雕塑, 版数 2/8
360 厘米 高
地点
G/F 地广塲中庭
平面图
artist picture
萨尔瓦多•达利

1904-1989

萨尔瓦多·达利为举足轻重的超现实主义画家,是同期备受推崇、敢于突破创新的艺术家之一。达利生于西班牙加泰罗尼亚省内的费格拉斯农业小镇。个性早熟、天资聪敏的他,在父母鼓励下从小便开始习画。他母亲不但让他尽情发挥创作兴趣,并纵容他早年的怪异行为。达利童年时的夏季都会在沿海渔村卡达克斯度过,他父母更在当地为他建立首个艺术工作室。

他在马德里的圣费尔南多皇家艺术学院接受正规艺术培训。于一九二零年代,达利前往巴黎,结识了毕卡索、马格利特、米罗等艺术家,因而踏上其超现实主义的创作之路,并于不久之后成为这个运动的其中一位领袖。达利一生一直纵容自己的怪癖和放任行为,并声称这是他创作力量的泉源。

他拥有非常出色的绘画技巧,令他的超现实作品充满既特出又怪异的影像,举世闻名。达利最为人认识的作品,相信是以熔化的时钟作题材的《The Persistence of Memory》,是他最具代表性的影像。达利涉猎的艺术领域非常广阔,涵盖电影、摄影和雕塑,并经常与从事不同媒介的艺术家合作。

达利的雕塑作品《Lobster Telephone》和《Mae West Lips Sofa》,是超现实主义运动中最着名的两件物品。其《燃烧的女人》雕像取材自他在1937年的着名画作《Burning Giraffe》,现为地广塲的永久展品。这件瞩目的作品反映了达利对女性神秘感和弗洛伊德的梦境诠释深深着迷。作为全球最着名和备受赞赏的艺术家,达利这件雕塑作品让观赏者从中探索无限的可能性,和暂时逃离中环都市喧嚣的难得机会。 


观赏更多 地广塲中庭 艺术品

TOP